About the Project

CORINTHIAM is an acronym for Central Offices Responsible for the Integration at Home of Internationalisation as Assurance of quality in the Meda region.

CORINTHIAM is a funded Tempus* project of the European Commission aimed at strengthening the cooperation between European Higher Education Area (EHEA) institutions and the Middle East region by establishing structural measures that facilitate exchange mobilities, joint programmes and mutual recognition of diplomas.

The project consortium is represented by the following institutions:

Europe: Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgium), co-ordinator | Compostela Group of Universities (Spain) | Lund University (Sweden) | Masaryk University (Czech Republic) | Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore di Milano (Italy) | Brighton University (United Kingdom) | Carl van Ossietzki Universität Oldenburg (Germany) | Utrech Network (The Netherland)

Israel: Ben-Gurion University of the Negev | Bezalel Academy of Arts & Design, Jerusalem |

Hebrew University, Jerusalem | Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya

Palestine: Al Quds University | Hebron University

*The TEMPUS programme

Tempus is a European Union funded programme which supports the modernization of higher education in the EU's neighboring countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe, Central Asia, North Africa and the Middle East.

Tempus support consortia of institutions composed of universities and colleges, national authorities, enterprises, non-gouvermental organizations, research institution etc.

The education, Audiovisual and culture Executive Agency [EACEA] is responsible for the management of all Tempus Actions and acts under the powers delegated by the European Commission. Tempus funds two types of actions:

Joint Projects: partnerships between higher education institutions in the EU and partner countries. They can develop, modernize and disseminate new curricula, teaching methods or materials, as well as boosting quality assurance and management of higher education institutions.

Structural Measures: to develop and reform higher education institutions and systems in partner countries; to enhance their quality and relevance, and to increase convergence with EU developments.